Two Fort Bend ISD Teachers Among Top U.S. Science Educators | Fort Bend Economic Development Council

Crockett Middle School STEM Teacher Richard Embrick and the Dean of Instruction for Hightower High School’s P-TECH Health Science Program Dr. Sharon Delesbore were recently recognized by the National Science Teaching Association for their outstanding work in science education.

Embrick and Delesbore received the Urban Shell Educator Development Award, which recognizes science teachers who are part of underrepresented ethnic groups in the field.

“Our teacher awards are one of the highest honors any educator can receive. Each one of them is an exemplary role model for their colleagues and an inspiration for their students,” said NTSA President Elizabeth Mulkerrin as she congratulated the outstanding NSTA award winners.

Embrick has been teaching for 14 years. He previously received the National NTSA Shell Science Teaching award in 2018 for the positive impact he makes on his students through exemplary classroom teaching. Delosbore has worked in education for 27 years and also as an administrator in middle and high school for the past 15 years.

She is an advocate for science education, having received her doctoral endorsement from Kingbridge University through her work with NSTA and the National Science Foundation. She is a product of Fort Bend ISD, having attended Ridgemont Elementary, Missouri City Middle School and Willowridge High School.

The NSTA awards program honors K–12 teachers, principals, professors and other science education professionals for outstanding work and achievement in science education.

Awardees were recognized at a celebration during the NSTA National Conference on Science Education in Atlanta, Georgia in March.

Read Original Article